Whitworth English Department

Present Tense: A Journal of Rhetoric in Society is made possible in part through funding provided by Whitworth University English Department.

Whitworth’s English majors choose one of three approaches to the major, based on their interests and career goals: literature (Track I), writing (Track II), or preparation for secondary teaching (Track III). Students in every track complete challenging courses in literature, writing and critical theory, so that all majors become careful and insightful readers, judicious and flexible researchers, and clear, imaginative writers. They aim to graduate students whose strong speaking, writing, analysis and problem-solving skills make them extraordinary, resourceful professionals.

Whitworth’s English department offers six minors: an English minor, a minor in editing and publishing, a minor in film and visual narrative, a minor in teaching English to speakers of other languages (TESOL), a medieval and early modern studies minor, and a language arts minor designed especially for education students. They also support the university’s interdisciplinary minors in U.S. cultural studies and women’s & gender studies.

Whitworth University is a private Christian liberal arts college in the northwest United States, located in Spokane, Washington. Founded 128 years ago in 1890, Whitworth is a private, residential, liberal arts institution affiliated with the Presbyterian Church (USA). Its community of teacher-scholars is committed to rigorous and open intellectual inquiry and to the integration of Christian faith and learning.‌