Present Tense: A Journal of Rhetoric in Society is a peer-reviewed, blind-refereed, online journal dedicated to exploring contemporary social, cultural, political and economic issues through a rhetorical lens. In addition to examining these subjects as found in written, oral and visual texts, we wish to provide a forum for calls to action in academia, education and national policy. Seeking to address current or presently unfolding issues, we publish short articles ranging from 2,000 to 2,500 words, the length of a conference paper. For sample topics please see our submission guidelines. Conference presentations on topics related to the journal’s focus lend themselves particularly well to this publishing format. Authors who address the most current issues may find a lengthy submission and application process disadvantageous. We seek to overcome this issue through our shortened response time and by publishing individual articles as they are accepted. We also encourage conference-length multimedia submissions such as short documentaries, flash videos, slidecasts and podcasts. In order to foster dialogue, our journal features a Reader Response section in which both contributors and readers are welcome to discuss the publications’ content in a public, digital space.


Managing Editors
Jessica Clements, Whitworth University
John Pell, Whitworth University
Multimedia Editor
Shreelina Ghosh, Gannon University
Annotated Bibliography Editor
Matt Cox, East Carolina University
Social Media Editor
Don Unger, The University of Mississippi
Review Editor
Ryan Skinnell, San Jose State University
Style Editors
Megan Schoen, Oakland University
Cristyn L. Elder, University of New Mexico
Ehren Helmut Pflugfelder, Oregon State University
Technical Editor
Caitlan Spronk, Purdue University
Business Editor
Joshua Prenosil, Creighton University
Review Board
  • Linda Adler-Kassner, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Joseph Bartolotta, University of New Mexico
  • Jennifer Bay, Purdue University
  • Charles Bazerman, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Michael Bérubé, The Pennsylvania State University
  • Stuart Blythe, Michigan State University
  • Jonathan Buehl, Ohio State University
  • Jimmy Butts, Louisiana State University
  • Ralph Cintron, The University of Illinois at Chicago
  • Alister Cumming, Ontario Institute for Studies in Education
  • Ellen Cushman, Michigan State University
  • Jeremy Cushman, Western Washington University
  • Joshua Daniel-Wariya, Oklahoma State University
  • Sid Dobrin, University of Florida
  • Dana Driscoll, Indiana University of Pennsylvania
  • Jim Dubinsky, Virginia Tech
  • Kimberly Emmons, Case Western Reserve University
  • Patricia Fancher, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Amy Ferdinandt Stolley, Grand Valley State University
  • Sergio Figueiredo, Kennesaw State University
  • Scott Gage, Texas A&M University-San Antonio
  • Kendall Gerdes, Texas Tech University
  • Keith Gilyard, The Pennsylvania State University
  • Tarez Graban, Florida State University
  • Jeff Grabill, Michigan State University
  • S. Scott Graham, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
  • David Grant, University of Northern Iowa
  • Bill Hart-Davidson, Michigan State University
  • Jason Helms, Texas Christian University
  • Alexandra Hidalgo, Michigan State University
  • Joshua Hilst, Utah Valley University
  • Judy Holiday, University of La Verne
  • Asao B. Inoue, University of Washington, Tacoma
  • Chad Iwertz, The Ohio State University
  • Tim Jensen, Oregon State University
  • Nathan R. Johnson, University of South Florida
  • Natasha Jones, University of Central Florida
  • Karen Kopelson, University of Louisville
  • Alex Layne, Metropolitan State University
  • Ben Lauren, Michigan State University
  • Jennifer LeMesurier, Colgate University
  • Kendall Leon, California State University, Chico
  • Lynn C. Lewis, Oklahoma State University
  • Drew M. Loewe, St. Edward’s University
  • Amy Lueck, Santa Clara University
  • Paul Lynch, Saint Louis University
  • Paul Kei Matsuda, Arizona State University
  • Mark McBeth, John Jay College of Criminal Justice/CUNY, New York
  • Brian McNely, University of Kentucky
  • Jaime Mejía, Texas State University
  • Joyce Irene Middleton, East Carolina University
  • Richard E. Miller, Rutgers University
  • Susan K. Miller-Cochran, Arizona State University
  • Cindy Moore, Loyola University, Maryland
  • Dawn Opel, Michigan State University
  • Charles Paine, University of New Mexico
  • Jason Palmeri, Miami University, Ohio
  • Stephen J. Parks, Syracuse University
  • John Pell, Whitworth University
  • Alexander Reid, University at Buffalo
  • Elaine Richardson, The Ohio State University
  • Thomas Rickert, Purdue University
  • Kelly Ritter, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Cecilia Rodríguez Milanés, University of Central Florida
  • James Chase Sanchez, Middlebury College
  • Jennifer Sano-Franchini, Virginia Tech
  • Michele Simmons, Miami University, Ohio
  • Nicole Snell, Bentley University
  • Lars Erik Söderlund, Western Oregon University
  • Ethan Sproat, Utah Valley University
  • Adam Strantz, Miami University, Ohio
  • Zosha Stuckey, Towson University
  • Jen Talbot, University of Central Arkansas
  • Christa Teston, The Ohio State University
  • William Thelin, The University of Akron
  • Mark Thompson, San José State University
  • Denise Tillery, University of Nevada, Las Vegas
  • Lisa Tremain, Humboldt State University
  • Denise Valdés, Syracuse University
  • Victor Villanueva, Washington State University
  • Victor Vitanza, Clemson University
  • Josephine Walwema, Oakland University
  • Travis Webster, Pace University
  • Jaclyn M. Wells, The University of Alabama, Birmingham
  • Gregory Zobel, Western Oregon University

Advisory Board

  • Linda Bergmann, In Memoriam, Purdue University
  • Samantha Blackmon, Purdue University
  • David Blakesley, Clemson University
  • Richard Johnson-Sheehan, Purdue University
  • Janice Lauer, Professor Emerita, Purdue University
  • Michael Salvo, Purdue University
  • John Schilb, Indiana University
  • Tony Silva, Purdue University
  • Patricia Sullivan, Purdue University
  • Irwin Weiser, Purdue University

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *